Did you know that ordering on our website has never been so easy, secure and fast? As demand is high for our products, this is a quick alternative if you don't have time to wait on the line to speak to one of our customer service agents.

The Four Steps of Love

by Fiona Gardner

The Four Steps of Love
Publication date: 2007-10-01
Number of pages: 152
ISBN: 9780232527162
There are times in our lives when the spiritual journey seems clear and openings and insights light the way. More usually the path to God can feel hidden - we move in the darkness and can become very lost. We lose a sense of where we are and how we might continue on our way. The Four Steps of Love offers us signposts for our spiritual journey in the shape of St Bernard's four stages of love: 'We love ourselves for ourselves; we love God for what he gives us; we love God for himself; we love ourselves for God's sake.' Fiona Gardner takes these stages and links them with four questions that Jesus asks in the gospels: 'What are you looking for? 'But who do you say I am?' 'Do you know what I have done to you?' 'For whom are you looking?' Through this framework, she explores the concept of metanoia, or change of heart - a continuous process that is never quite perfected in this life. Drawing on the experience of others and complete with practical exercises for prayer and meditation, The Four Steps of Love is a perfect guide for all those seeking inspiration and guidance on their spiritual journey.Fiona Gardner