Mozart: Rare Choral Works 2xCDs

Mozart: Rare Choral Works 2xCDs


The year 2006 marked a major musical anniversary with the 250th birthday of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. The world has enjoyed the genius of Mozart through his symphonies, operas, chamber and piano music. In addition, his Requiem, left incomplete at his death, remains one of the most beloved of sacred choral works. Gloriæ Dei Cantores presents a rare look at a side of Mozart that is not so well known: his contribution to music for the Church. Included in this recording are two rarely heard major works of great beauty and invention: Davide Penitente K. 469 and the Litaniae de venerabili altaris Sacramento K. 243. Also included are a further litany, several motets, and two of the famous church sonatas for small orchestra and organ, giving a rounded picture of Mozart, the sacred musician. Mozart: Rare Choral Works will be a profound experience for the classical music lover and for those who are interested in the sacred side of one of the best-loved composers of all time.

All performances based on the New Mozart Edition (Neue Mozart-Ausgabe); used by permission of Baerenreiter, publisher and copyright owner.

Mozart: Rare Choral Works
1 Veni Sancte Spiritus K.47 3:44
Betulia Liberata K.118
2 Del pari infeconda 6:30
3 Terribile d'aspetto 4:05
4 Misericordias Domini K.222 5:22
5 Church Sonata K.278 3:45
Litaniae De Venerabili Altaris Sacramento K.243
6 Kyrie 3:14
7 Panis vivus 5:00
8 Verbum caro factum 1:13
9 Hostia sancta 3:38
10 Tremendum 3:02
11 Dulcissimum convivium 4:10
12 Viaticum 4:10
13 Pignus 4:56
14 Agnus Dei 4:45
15 Venite Populi K.260 4:26
  Total Time: 59:08
Regina Coeli K. 108
1 Regina Coeli 2:50
2 Quia quem meruisti 3:27
3 Ora pro nobis 4:14
4 Alleluia 3:01
Litaniae Lauretanae K. 109
5 Kyrie 1:21
6 Sancta Maria 4:11
7 Salus infirmorum 1:16
8 Regina Angelorum 1:25
9 Agnus Dei 2:24
10 Church Sonata K. 329 4:16
Davidde Penitente K. 469
11 Coro: Alzai le flebili voci al Signor 4:52
12 Coro: Cantiam le glorie 2:00
13 Aria: Lungi le cure ingrate 4:40
14 Coro: Sii pur sempre benigno, oh Dio 1:10
15 Duetto: Sorgi, o Signore 2:50
16 Aria: A te, fra tanti affanni 6:28
17 Coro: Se vuoi, puniscimi 6:04
18 Aria: Tra l'oscure 6:37
19 Terzetto: Tutte le mie 3:19
20 Coro: Chi in Dio sol 4:36
  Total Time: 71:01

Related Products